Day 2: Jin-Roh: The Wolf Brigade

On the second day of Christmas my True Love gave to me…
Two deceiving wolves…
And one piano concerto.

 

If it’s related to Mamoru Oshii, it’s almost bound to be a heavy hitter. And I almost mean that literally, because after watching Jin-Roh I had trouble getting my ass off the couch. I didn’t want to leave. I just wanted to sit there and have a moment of reflection. Just thinking about this movie makes me stop. I don’t think I can write about it. And that is why I must write about it.

But it’s not like I can give political insight or knowledge of the psyche. And that is another reason this film is so hard-pressing. The things we are ignorant about or the things we’d like to keep ignorant. Peace is just a weird state and the uprisings over the year point that out. Why do we do the things we do or who we really are.

I can go without answering those questions, but questions is all this movie gave me when I watched it in the spring of this year. I’m still here asking them. But I can’t keep sitting still. Time to move on.

7 thoughts on “Day 2: Jin-Roh: The Wolf Brigade

  1. Pingback: Day 3: Ikoku Meiro no Croisée | Numbers and space

  2. Pingback: Day 4: Disappearing into an Endless Summer with SCCSAV | Numbers and space

  3. Pingback: Day 5: Nichijou | Numbers and space

  4. Pingback: Day 6: MangaKissa | Numbers and space

  5. Pingback: Day 7: TWGOK, 神のみぞ知る世界, fleeting youth. | Numbers and space

  6. Pingback: Day 8: Impossible divisions, Fate/zero | Numbers and space

  7. Pingback: Day 9: Madoka Magica | Numbers and space

Leave a Reply

