Day 3: Ikoku Meiro no Croisée

Any medical bills will not be accounted for.

On the third day of Christmas my True Love gave to me…
Three French signboards,
Two deceiving wolves,
And a piano concerto.
 

If there was ever a series about a cute girl doing cute things, I would think of this one and not think of it. Confusing? Let me elaborate.

Yune is the cutest thing ever. Just look at her. There are little faults to be found in her behaviour, style and manners. She is still naive, but delightfully so. Her innocence and curiosity are just the greatest thing ever.

If that was all there was to the show then it wouldn’t last very long. I wasn’t particularly interested in the back-story going on and is just some noise going on in the, yes, back of my mind.

When I think of Ikoku Meiro no Croisee, I think of a signboard. Yune is Japan’s signboard. And I treat the series like one too. I like to see various clothes, crafty tools, gritty Paris. I like it for rather superficial reasons and I don’t feel like justifying it either for what little depth yet amazing display the series puts on.

“Charming” is a very fitting word for this series. Yune being a cute girl doing cute things is a big factor in my appreciation, but it is part of a bigger whole. That whole being what she represents, a foreign ideal living a life in Paris. Or an ideal close by home living life in foreign Paris, but since I live closer by Paris than Japan my viewpoint is skewed. I know not everything is spot on correct when it comes to the French side of the mannerisms, but it doesn’t matter in the long run. Paris is chosen because it represents Western European culture, but its inhabitants aren’t particularly French. No, this show is oh so Japanese loving because it makes Yune the spotlight. And I can’t blame anyone for that.

6 thoughts on “Day 3: Ikoku Meiro no Croisée

  1. Pingback: Day 4: Disappearing into an Endless Summer with SCCSAV | Numbers and space

  2. Pingback: Day 5: Nichijou | Numbers and space

  3. Pingback: Day 6: MangaKissa | Numbers and space

  4. Pingback: Day 7: TWGOK, 神のみぞ知る世界, fleeting youth. | Numbers and space

  5. Pingback: Day 8: Impossible divisions, Fate/zero | Numbers and space

  6. Pingback: Day 9: Madoka Magica | Numbers and space

Leave a Reply

