Day 5: Nichijou

"Nee-chan..."

On the fifth day of Christmas my True Love gave to me…
Five normal weekdays_
Four frog suits_
Three French signboards_
Two deceiving wolves_
And a piano concerto.
 

Before I talk about Nichijou, I want to involve that other comedy/Slice-of-Life series by Kyoto Animation, Lucky Star. They have a lot of differences, but also a lot in common. They’re both episodic comedies so I can just watch any episode at random. I used to own a Portable Media Player and I always brought it with me. I put all of the Lucky Star episodes on it. When I had some time to spare or was just in the mood, I’d play an episode. This went on for so long that I ended up rewatching the entire series at least 6 or 7 times, some episodes maybe 9 or 10 times. Of course, even a good (your mileage may vary) comedy like Lucky Star gets tiring after so many times. Its age has passed and it’s time for Nichijou to seize the kingdom.

So about Nichijou. It’s hard to be wordy about a comedy. There’s a lot to say about a lot of subtopics (animation, some specific sketches), but they’re not what I want to talk about right now. I also think other people can put it better than me. But let me try anyway. Here we go:

Nichijou is awesome.

Did I do a good job?

Further reading listening: Krizzlybear pulls out the Norio Wakamoto in him.

8 thoughts on “Day 5: Nichijou

  1. Pingback: Day 6: MangaKissa | Numbers and space

  2. Pingback: The Twelve Days of Christmas Day 7: 2011–Top 7 Favourite Moments « The Kotatsu

  3. Pingback: Day 7: TWGOK, 神のみぞ知る世界, fleeting youth. | Numbers and space

  4. Pingback: Day 8: Impossible divisions, Fate/zero | Numbers and space

  5. Pingback: Day 9: Madoka Magica | Numbers and space

Leave a Reply

