Day 7: TWGOK, 神のみぞ知る世界, fleeting youth.

Chihiro Ayumi

The one on the right! The right!

On the seventh day of Christmas my True Love gave to me…
#Seven captured goddesses
#Six shelves of manga
#Five normal weekdays
#Four frog suits
#Three French signboards
#Two deceiving wolves
And a piano concerto.
 

As the years go by, I can’t help but feel old. Then I look back upon the me from a year ago, who thought he was old, and he looked young. And stupid. I’m sure I will continue to feel old, look young and be stupid. But 神のみぞ知る世界 reminds me of my middle school days of innocent love. You might say that it’s a fairly superficial manga, even degenerating towards women. But I know for a fact that I fell in love for the silliest reasons or the smallest details. And maybe still do.

Well, that little thing aside, there are some other things I like about Kaminomi. For instance, there’s a very fine edge between the serious and non-serious parts and never does it cross the line where it isn’t wanted. I think it’s also largely in part of the excellent pacing throughout the series. Taking that pacing to a bigger view, the manga starts out with various disconnected arcs of varying length. Currently we’re on a big arc that ties the previous ones to each other. Although we’re not at the conclusion yet, I’ve been enjoying the journey towards it so far.

Of course, I’m also a big fan of propagating my love for the characters. KamiNomi fares very well in that department, with an abundance of girls around. To name my favourites: Ayumi, Haqua, Shiori, Kusunoki Kasuga. The characters are almost always made with a gimmick in mind, but they’re not cheap ones. I don’t dislike any of the others, which really helps for a harem series like KamiNomi.

Yes, it’s still a harem series in the end, but it’s different from the others. All the characters get closure in their arcs (using the amnesia trick, but oh well). The characters do return for the occasional cameo or even plot point but never in focus for too long. This is all with the exception of the latest big arc, but we’ll have to see how that turns out. Fingers crossed.

It is a bit weird to put this manga in a 2011 post (I’ve been loving it since chapter one). Since the second season aired this year, I thought it wasn’t too inappropriate. But really, I just wanted an excuse to write about KamiNomi. And that’s enough for me to put it on the list.

A guy can hope, right?

4 thoughts on “Day 7: TWGOK, 神のみぞ知る世界, fleeting youth.

  1. Pingback: Day 8: Impossible divisions, Fate/zero | Numbers and space

  2. Pingback: Day 9: Madoka Magica | Numbers and space

Leave a Reply

