Day 8: Impossible divisions, Fate/zero

King of Knights

On the eighth day of Christmas my True Love gave to me…
Eight* battling servants!
Seven captured goddesses!
Six shelves of manga!
Five normal weekdays!
Four frog suits!
Three French signboards!
Two deceiving wolves!
And a piano concerto.
 

I love technology and I love long commutes. Okay, I might not like the latter, but I’m making the best out of it. And with the power of technology, I was able to read Fate/zero on my daily train ride. Written by Gen Urobochi, thoroughly drenched in the style of Kinoko Nasu. 2011 finally saw the fan translation completed.

It’s been a few years since I’ve read Fate/stay night. Nasu’s meticulous writing style left a favourable impression on me, even if it was rather hard to read at times. Or I should say that it’s not fun to read and incredibly fun to read at the same time. Sometimes I’m really interested in the level of detail he gives to his works. Sometimes it’s a bit bothersome to read. It has more to do with my mood than anything.

For Fate/zero it’s Gen Urobochi taking the reigns. While I can’t comment on what level he imitates Nasu’s writing style, the translation just seeps of him. It’s still an Urobochi story, but I haven’t read too much of his works to know what qualifies as an Urobochi story. It’s not as dark as I’m used to, but the strong feeling of despair is present at many times.

One of my favourite things in Fate/zero are the opposing beliefs and the clashes between them. In particular the clash between Saber and Kiritsugu is what keeps the pages turning. The nobility of a knight and the extreme logic of an assassin and the way it relates with the future protagonist, Shirou in F/SN. I think Nasu’s writing style is working wonders here. The way he covers each viewpoint to the greatest extent makes it easier to empathize with the stance of that particular character. It’s one way of explaining fairly abstract, seemingly irrelevant concepts and it making them relevant.

One True Pairing

Recently the first half of the anime finished airing. While I definitely appreciate ufotable’s loyalty to the original, I don’t feel like the anime adds anything to my experience. The first episode saw tons of exposure, as can be expected and is necessary of any anime adaptation out of a Nasuverse, but at that point I’m left wondering if an anime is at all a good choice of adaptation.

Of course, commercially it is a good choice. You don’t need to tell me why they made the anime. I’m talking artistically. The large amount of exposition in this work makes it a tough work to adapt in an anime. I haven’t read the manga yet, but manga in general is better suited for text. All that said, I certainly don’t think it’s a bad adaptation and I really like the good production put behind it. Maybe I’m expecting too much some times. I also think Waver’s moe is more emphasized in the anime (again for commercial reasons?).

Plus, the anime gave Fate/zero a lot of attention. It made Pixiv just a little more awesome. Saber in a suit gets my seal of approval.

My phone wallpaper. I don't see it changing any time soon.

* “But Numbers, there are only seven servants, aren’t there?” to which I say teehee~

3 thoughts on “Day 8: Impossible divisions, Fate/zero

  1. Pingback: Day 9: Madoka Magica | Numbers and space

  2. Pingback: 16/zero | Numbers and space

  3. Pingback: Anime Power Rankings Presents: The Top Shows of 2012 | Desu ex Machina

Leave a Reply

